…lest I be full and deny you and say. “Who is the LORD?” or lest I be poor and steal and profane the name of my God.” Proverbs 30:7-9

It’s rare nowadays to say or hear a prayer like this. We live in times where more and having always more is the great desire of the heart. But, this is not a new issue at all we read how Satan deceived Adam and Eve “You will not surely die. For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.””, Genesis 3:4,5  The idea of getting more, the desire of becoming great is visible in Satan’s statement “you will be like God” and the following verses show how our ancestors were misled because of the desire to be more than what God gave and told them.

Some of the lessons I learned from Agur’s prayer are:

Honesty – he opened his heart before God describing what his heart desires; he recognises how he’s desperate for certain kind of things and how these things can mislead him if they are being used in wrong way or a false purpose. “Oh, Lord I just want to be in the middle, I don’t want to disappoint you”. He’s making clear that the desire for more is in his heart, but he choose to please God; “do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.Philippians 4:6;

Humbly – “remove far from me falsehood and lying” (verse 8) he knows how deceitful is his heart and acknowledges God’s power to overcome those seeds. He invites God to come and lead his heart, “The heart is deceitful above all things,… I the LORD search the heart and test the mind…“, Jeremiah 17:9,10. He knows without letting God to take control of his heart, being the Lord of his life the seed of sin within him “…when it is fully grown brings forth death.” (cf. James 1:14,15).

Food – he knows it is important to be fed and well-fed, but he want make it in holiness.  “Feed me with the food that is needful for me” (verse 9). He desires to keep his life in holiness in order to please God, “or lest I be poor and steal and profane the name of my God“. Once again brings out his strong desire to maintain his communion with God, “lest I be full and deny you and say, “Who is the LORD?” That brings the Lord’s prayer in mind, “Give us this day our daily breadMatthew 6:11.

Direct – Agur makes it clear “Two things I ask of you; deny them not to me before I die“(verse 7). I live in a country for almost six years and one of the hardest things I’ve been struggling with among the many culture barriers is how people here are so indirect when comes to communicate something. Jesus said we don’t need to rely ourselves on using many words when comes to pray as someone who want to convince someone, Matthew 6:7,8; we don’t need to be turning around for God knows everything even before we think on praying; so, how could I convince  Him with many words or good words. God’s more interested with my heart, He want to lead it; Agur knew that so he submited his heart to the lordship of God.

 Keeping my intimacy with untouched is key in life for I was created for GOD.

Leave a Reply

